Call for nominations for the 2023 George Walker Award and Wager Medal

Call for nominations for the 2023 George Walker Award and Wager Medal

Dear IAVCEI members,

we inform you of the opening of the IAVCEI Call for Nominations to the
2023 GEORGE WALKER Award and the WAGER Medal which will be delivered during our Scientific Assembly by January 2023 in Rotorua (NZ). We remind you below of the specificities of these two awards. Please refer to the IAVCEI website (‘Awards’) for the submission guidelines. The submission deadline will be October 8, 2022.

In standard time the George Walker Award and the Wager Medal are both delivered every 2 years at the IAVCEI Scientific Assembly then the IAVCEI General Assembly. However, owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, our Scientific Assembly in Rotorua had to be postponed from 2021 to January 2023. Our SA will thus happen just 6 months before our next General Assembly, planned to occur in July 2023 during the 28th IUGG GA in Berlin. Given these very exceptional circumstances, we thus recommend you to mind which of these two Assemblies you wish to nominate. The second call for award nominations to our GA in Berlin will be issued by early January 2023.

Over the past 8 years, the George Walker Award and the Wager Medal were each awarded to 2 nominees. This rule will be maintained in 2023.
Finally, given the exceptional impact of the COVID-19 pandemic over the past two years, especially on young scientists, nominators and the IAVCEI award Committee might consider the possibility of nominations with a 2-yr extension with respect to the standard duration after the Ph.D. acquisition (besides extension for maternity/paternity, see below).

With my best regards,

Patrick Allard
IAVCEI President

The George Walker Award honors the memory of Professor George Walker
(1926-2005) who pioneered a modern quantitative approach to physical volcanology and greatly accelerated the understanding of volcanic processes.
The award is supported by the George Walker Fund. The award honors a scientist up to 7 years after Ph.D. acquisition*. The award recognizes the achievements of a recent outstanding graduate in the fields of research encompassed by IAVCEI, or also a recent graduate whose achievements in volcanology involved operating in difficult circumstances.

The Wager Medal honors the memory of Professor Lawrence Rickard Wager
(1904-1965) of the University of Oxford (United Kingdom), best known for the discovery of the Skaergaard layered intrusion and the first detailed structural, mineralogical, and petrological study of such intrusions. The Wager medal is given to a scientist up to 15 years after Ph.D. acquisition*, who has made outstanding contributions to volcanology, particularly in the eight-year period prior to the Award.

* For both George Walker and Wager awarding, the time window taken into consideration for eligibility can be extended where maternity/paternity leave has been taken since the award of Ph.D. For maternity, the time since the award of a Ph.D. can be increased by 18 months or, where longer, by the amount of leave actually taken for each child. For paternity, the time since the award of a Ph.D. can be increased by the amount of paternity leave actually taken for each child.

More News

IUGG Grants Program: Special Call – IYBSSD2022

Please note that the IUGG Bureau has decided to issue a special call for proposals to be dedicated to the International Year of Basic Sciences for Sustainable Development (IYBSSD2022; are encouraged to submit their applications electronically by July 31, 2022….

read more

IAVCEI Scientific Assembly 2023 update

Dear colleagues,  we are happy to announce that registration for the IAVCEI Scientific Assembly 2023 has been launched!!!. To enter the registration form, please click here. The Abstract submission is open as well – for the Abstract submission visit the website at:…

read more

IUGG: Reminder on nomination deadlines 2022

IUGG Fellowships (Honorary Memberships) are a tribute to individuals who have made exceptional contributions to international cooperation in geodesy or geophysics and attained eminence in the field of Earth and space sciences. The deadline for submission of nominations for IUGG Fellowships is 20…

read more