IAVCEI/IACS VIIC Seminar: Subglacial Volcanism and the Formation of Glaciovolcanic Cave System

IAVCEI/IACS VIIC Seminar: Subglacial Volcanism and the Formation of Glaciovolcanic Cave System

Please join the IAVCEI/IACS Joint Commission on Volcano-Ice Interactions for our next seminar with our two speakers, Linda Sobolewski (Ruhr-Universität Bochum) and Christian Stenner (Alberta Speleological Society). Registration via the link below is required in order to receive the zoom meeting invitation and/or access the recording, which will become available after the meeting.

IAVCEI/IACS VIIC Seminar: Subglacial Volcanism and the Formation of Glaciovolcanic Cave System with Linda Sobolewski and Christian Stenner

22nd February, 2022 | 9a PST | 12p EST | 5p UTC | 7a HST

23rd February, 2022 | 2a JST |

Glaciovolcanism, which describes the interaction of heat from the Earth’s interior with various types of ice masses, can be found on several volcanoes worldwide. However, a rarely studied phenomenon is the formation of void spaces underneath the ice—glaciovolcanic caves. Examples are known from Mount Erebus (Antarctica), Mount Rainier and Mount St. Helens (USA). Although research was performed as early as the 1970s by W. Giggenbach on Mount Erebus, studies of void spaces created by volcano-ice interactions since then have been sporadic. Nevertheless, glaciovolcanic cave systems and their investigation have gained importance. Further advances have been made during the last decade, including research on volcanoes of the Cascade Volcanic Arc (USA), Mount Meager (Canada), and other parts of Antarctica. They have expediency as indicators of recurring volcanic activity, in hazard mitigation, and for understanding the hydrothermal cycles on volcanic edifies. Their expediency goes well beyond earth processes and facilitates discovery on several levels including as geobiological analogs for astrobiology/exobiology and as testing sites for precursor robotic technologies for solar system exploration.

Register in advance for this meeting:

https://uoregon.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJEpcOGorz0rH9Ry1VMXy4NckW8QmKMBU5Mp

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

All the best,

The VIIC Officers

More News

IAVCEI/ECR: Mass Movements and their Associated Hazards

Dear colleagues, We are happy to announce the Speakers and Programme for the upcoming webinar, please, see below. When:  February 10th, 2022 at 08:00 am UTC – to verify the beginning of the webinar in your time zone, please visit the time convertor here. Registration: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_QpvOtZ2rRce3epSWcdBvmA…


read more

IUGG Awards 2023 – Call for Nominations

Dear IAVCEI members, It is a pleasure to inform you that IUGG announced the IUGG Awards 2023 – Call for Nominations. IMPORTANT before you read!!!Since the nominations have to be formally presented by IAVCEI, the nominations have to be sent directly to: iavcei@associationhouse.cz BEFORE May…


read more