George Walker Award

George Walker Medal

The George Walker Award honor the memory of Professor George Walker, who was born on March 2, 1926 and died on January 17, 2005. Professor Walker's discoveries pioneered a modern quantitative approach to physical volcanology and greatly accelerated understanding of volcanic processes. The award is supported by the George Walker Fund. The award is given every two years to a scientist up to 7 years after Ph.D acquisition. The award recognizes achievements of a recent outstanding graduate in the fields of research encompassed by IAVCEI, or also a recent graduate whose achievements in volcanology involved operating in difficult circumstances. The winner will receive a certificate with a cash award.


2004 Costanza Bonadonna 
2008 Diana C. Roman 
2008 Fukashi Maeno
2011 Josef Dufek 
2013 Heather Wright
2015 Anja Schmidt 
2017 Sébastien Biass
2017 Alexa Van Eaton

Print   Email