Martin Rietze /
What is IAVCEI

IAVCEI Bureau 2019-2023


Dr. Patrick Allard

Dr. Patrick Allard
Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris,
Université de Paris, France.
+33 018 3957630


Prof. Roberto Sulpizio

Prof. Roberto Sulpizio
Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra e Geoambientali,
Università di Bari, Italy.
+39 080 5442589
Fax: +39 080 5442625

Editor, Bulletin of Volcanology

Prof. Andrew Harris

Prof. Andrew Harris
Laboratoire Magmas et Volcans
Université Clermont Auvergne – Aubière, France


Prof. Masato Iguchi

Prof. Masato Iguchi
Sakurajima Volcano Research Center,
Disaster Prevention Research Institute of Kyoto University
+81 (99) 293-2058

Dr. Jan Marie Lindsay

Dr. Jan Marie Lindsay
School of Environment,
University of Auckland, New Zealand

+64 9 923 8678

Past-President (ex-officio)

Prof. Donald Bruce Dingwell

Prof. Donald Bruce Dingwell
Department for Earth and Enviromental Sciences,
Ludwig-Maximilians Universitat,
Theresienstr. 41, 80333 Munich, Germany
+49 (0) 89 2180 4136
Fax: +49 (0) 89 2180 4176


Prof. Fidel Costa

Prof. Fidel Costa
Associate Chair (Faculty) of Asian School of the Environment
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Dr. Eisuke Fujita

Dr. Eisuke Fujita
National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Resilience (NIED),
Tennodai 3-1, Tsukuba, Ibaraki (Japan)

Prof. Lizzette A. Rodrìguez

Prof. Lizzette A. Rodrìguez
Department of Geology University of Puerto Rico,
Puerto Rico
+787 832 40403583

Prof. Josè Viramonte

Prof. Josè Viramonte
Universidad Nacional de Salta,
+54 387 4395965

Early-Career Researcher (aged 35 or less)

Dr. Julya Eychenne

Dr. Julya Eychenne
Laboratoire Magmas et Volcans,
Université Clermont-Auvergne
+33 (0)768 67 45 51

IAVCEI Communication Team and Commission’s websites 

Dr. Eugenio Nicotra

Dr. Eugenio Nicotra
Università della Calabria,
+39 320 6217743

IAVCEI Sub-Committees

The IAVCEI Executive Committee establishes Sub-Committees from time to time in order to explore some particular aspect of interest or concern and where the input of specialists may be required. All Sub-Committees report directly to the Executive Committee. Most are designed to have short lives.An exception is the Awards Sub-Committee which is planned as a regular fixture of the Association’s management activities. The IAVCEI President normally is the Chair of the Sub-Committees.